Werthe Damen und Herren,

Distinguished Ladies and gentlemen, for english translation, please scroll down.

Werthe Damen und Herren, wenn Sie sehen, was ich heute gefunden habe wissen Sie, warum ich diese Anrede wähle.

Aber vorab erst mal MEA CULPA, erst kündige ich groß an, ich wollte  Ihnen hier jetzt jeden Sonntag ein Lieblingsbuch vorstellen und dann – nichts. Ich rede mich jetzt heraus mit dem Hinweis auf Probleme mit dem Internet (die immer noch nicht vollständig gelöst sind, die ich aber jetzt zu überlisten versuche. Psst.) Nächsten Sonntag gibt’s ein Buch, versprochen.

Aber zurück zu meinem Fund: Bei ebay gibt es oft „Dachbodenfunde“ Ob das immer welche sind, wage ich zu bezweifeln. Aber ich habe heute einen gemacht: Neben einer Menge von Briefen, Heften und Zeitungsausschnitten fand ich ein BUCH. (Also doch: Ein Post über ein Buch) Ach was, was sag ich, Buch. Ein Kleinod, eine Preziose.

Ich fand:

DSC_8363

Verborgen unter alten Bodenbrettern lag dieser „treue Ratgeber in Herzensangelegenheiten“. Ich weiß, dass die Tochter des Hauses später dort mit ihrem Ehemann, dem Dorflehrer, gewohnt hat. War es Ihres, Fräulein Anna?

Ich habe Ihnen das Titelblatt und die Inhaltsangaben abgelichtet – ein rührender Fundus an Situationen, für die es zu schreiben gilt:

DSC_8365

DSC_8367 DSC_8368DSC_8369

DSC_8370

Wie hilfreich!

Einen der Briefe wollte ich Ihnen nicht vorenthalten. Statt einfach zu sagen „Nee, ich will nicht heiraten, Heiraten ist nicht mein Ding“ schreibe man:

DSC_8371

Ich bin entzückt!

Ich weiß noch nicht wo, aber das Buch bekommt einen besonderen Platz im renovierten Haus.

GlückAuf!

PS Sie werden es nicht glauben – den Nachdruck des Buches aus 1984 ist bei Amazon gelistet. Aber vergriffen. Das Original ist aus 1904 – also nicht Fräulein Anna, sondern höchstwahrscheinlich ihre Mutter.

Distinguished Ladies and Gentleman, when you see what I found today you’ll know why I address you so formally. But first, MEA CULPA – I promised to show you one of my favourite books each Sunday – and then there was nothing. I do apologize and talk my way out of it with internet problems (which are still not fixed, but I hope to have found a workaround. Psst)

But back to what I found: On ebay you often see “attic finds” I have my doubts if those are real ones. But I made one today. I found, between a pile of old letters, menus and newspaper clippings, a BOOK. (here you have it : a book)

What am I saying, a book: I discovered a little gem, a treasure.

 

I found:

„Complete letter directory for Lovers.

A true adviser in matters of the heart.“

 

And the title says:

„A true adviser in matters of the heart and other situations.
Sample letters for all situations of the love and family life and more.
For young ladies“

There are tons of letters for all the situations of life: Answers to a proposal, to the declaration  of love, telling your best friend about your new love (your engagement, your marriage), samples for parents to write when asked for their daughters hand in marriage (always both, positive and negative answers), how to thank the doctor who cured you (including the payment), asking for a favour, thanking for a favour done, giving notice to your employer, invitations, thank you notes for all reasons (including an inheritance – before or after?)

It goes on and on. How helpful!

It was hidden under the old floor of the attic in the house I’m currently renovating. I know that the daughter of the house later lived there with her husband, the village’s teacher. Was it yours, Miss Anna?

 I’ll try to translate one of the letters for you which I love a lot. It’s in a very old style German, but I’ll give it a go anyway.

Instead of just saying: “No, I don`t want to marry at all. Marriage is not my cup of tea” you’d better write the following:

“Dear Sir,

I have never considered marriage, because I am very happy in my present circumstances, and, furthermore, I am convinced of the state of marriage being filled with concerns and sorrows, which makes it impossible for me to put the luck of my future into any man’s hands.

Yours sincerely… “

Ain’t that cute?

I don’t know where yet, but the book will have a special place, once the house is completely renovated.

 GlückAuf!

PS: You won’t believe what I just found: The book is listed on Amazon! It was reprinted in 1984, but is not available at present.  The original was from 1904. So it wasn’t Miss Anna. Must have been her mother.

Und jetzt Sie: Kommentare herzlich willkommen!

